Gluten-Free Awareness

We’ve put together a list of gluten-free foods available in our New Frontiers’ stores. As an advocate for your good health, we’re committed to bringing a wide variety of high- quality products available those who are sensitive to gluten.

 

Gluten-Free, is it for me?

One in every 132 people in America has celiac disease, and nearly 15 times that number—up to 15 percent of the world’s population, or one in seven people—have a non-celiac gluten intolerance, according to the Center for Celiac Disease at the University of Maryland.If you feel is bloated, gaseous or lethargic every time you eat gluten, your body may  be trying to tell you something.

If you also experience diarrhea, skin rash or irritability and depression, you may have this intolerance.

A gluten-free diet avoids all foods that may contain gluten: wheat, kamut, spelt, barley, rye, oats (because of the processing) and triticale.

Celiac Disease vs. Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance
With celiac disease, or gluten allergy, the body exhibits an immune response in the small intestine when gluten protein is present. A simple blood test can help reveal whether someone has celiac disease. Common symptoms of both celiac disease and non-celiac gluten intolerance involve indigestion, bloating, diarrhea, fatigue, nausea, swelling, skin rash, nutrient deficiency, bone density loss, irritability, depression and sometimes no symptoms at all. Diagnosing patients with gluten sensitivity is very difficult as the expressions of this sensitivity can vary so greatly from person to person—or are they are completely invisible.

There is a lot of current information on the web. For more on Celiac Disease, contact the Celiac Foundation at www.celiac.org.

What are my choices?
Gluten-free grains and starches include: rice, corn, (popcorn, cornmeal, polenta and tortillas), potato, quinoa, bean, buckwheat, millet, teff, tapioca, amaranth and nut flours.

Also, watch for “hidden” forms of gluten such as: malt, food starch, grain vinegars, natural flavorings, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, binders and fillers, to name a few. In order for a product to be labeled gluten-free, it must be processed in a facility that is dedicated gluten-free so cross-contamination with other products containing gluten is virtually impossible.

Our New Frontiers list includes breads, cereals, snacks, pastas, and more, made of gluten-free alternative flours or ingredients such as rice, corn, potato, soy, tapioca and more.

Pin It on Pinterest